Where I’m from

I came from a family with no love to spare
Slow to realize no one really cared
Always searching for a way to be loved
All I ever found were drugs
My hands always trembled, body coated in sweat
It was my own life I came to regret
Alone in my room leaving memories behind
I would do anything to erase the images in my mind
They took me to a world that was mine alone
A place where I could finally hold my own
In this world I created in my head
I felt alive, no longer hanging by a thread
Being high I knew I wasn’t a coward
No, I made myself believe I had power
Everything was new drugs gave me a clean slate
But pieces of my sanity they would take
Living that way was not as perfect as I believed
The life I was living was ill conceived
Self-harm and suicidal plans fueled by withdrawal
After everything I survived there is no more room to fall
Ending my life was one wrong I could right
My mind is fucked and I’m too tired to fight

Leave a Reply

